Life’s Best Lived Outside The Box

Today’s long run was a challenge of the mental variety. All day I vacillated between going and postponing for another day…. But the part of me wishing to stay true to myself, and my goals, forced me to go out and run. The compromise? I would allow myself to take photos along the way. The justification? This is what I will be doing during the races. The catch? I could only do so during my walk breaks. The lesson learned? Life is best lived outside the box.

And how, you might ponder, did I come to this conclusion? Well, it came after I had missed the 3 most interesting photo opportunities of the run.

Photo #1 was taken during my 2 minute warm-up walk.

Fire Hydrant & Trees

Fire Hydrant & Trees

Photo #2 was taken during my first walk break. In my mind I had named it “The Long And Winding Road” right then my watch beeped signaling it was time to run – I look to my right and behold: a rainbow! A rainbow fragment to be precise. I was sorely tempted to grab a quick picture but, a deal is a deal even if it is a deal with myself.

The Long & Winding Road

The Long & Winding Road

Photo #3 was taken during my second walk break. This one I mentally named “Not My Time To Stop”

Not My Time To Stop

Not My Time To Stop

Photos #4 & 5 were taken during walk break number three.

Third Lake

Third Lake

Hibiscus & Sky

Hibiscus & Sky

Photos #6-8 were my sad attempt to capture my feet in motion, taken during walk break number 4.

Foot In Motion

Foot In Motion

Photos #9-11 were taken during walk break #5. Immediately after the beep that signaled the time to run had come, I looked up only to be met by one of the most vivid and gorgeous pink sunsets – yes, SoFla skies put on quite the show!

Sun Goes Down In A Blaze Of Glory

Sun Goes Down In A Blaze Of Glory

During walk break #6 the not so smart phone acted up and I missed all photo opps. By then I was tired enough I wanted to be home and low and behold as I ran the final stretch I almost stepped on a snake! This signals the 3rd most interesting site. At that point in dawned on me that had I not kept my photo taking inside the self-imposed box it would have been a whole lot more interesting….. that in turn made me think it was a good analogy of life. How many times might we miss the most interesting things by staying inside the box?

How’s that for runner’s philosophy?

-A-

Posted on October 19, 2013, in Running & Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow, what an important realization to make. That’s one of the great things about running–there’s a lesson around every corner. Sometimes our self-imposed rules are made to be broken!

Leave a Reply

